Dr. Peter K. Kilpatrick became the 16th president of The Catholic University of America on July 1, 2022.

Dr. Peter K. Kilpatrick was appointed president of The Catholic University of America in March 2022 and took office on July 1, 2022. 

He was provost and senior vice president for academic affairs at Illinois Institute of Technology from 2018 to 2022 and previously served as professor and McCloskey Dean of Engineering at the University of Notre Dame from 2008 to 2018.

At Illinois Tech, he developed the university’s five-year strategic plan, put in place new leadership, and drove development of an online master of applied science. 

During Dr. Kilpatrick’s tenure as dean at Notre Dame, the number of faculty at the College of Engineering grew by more than 60% and enrollment by nearly 70%. External research funding more than doubled to over $50 million per year. He also launched Notre Dame’s first joint Ph.D. program with the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile, later expanding to programs with universities in Brazil and Hungary. 

Dr. Kilpatrick also served on the faculty of North Carolina State University in chemical engineering for 24 years, from 1983 to 2007, the last eight-plus years as the department head. Dr. Kilpatrick also served as the founding director of the North Carolina Biomanufacturing Training and Education Center, a unique good manufacturing practice (GMP) facility that was designed to train the next generation of biopharmaceutical professionals and biotechnology industry professionals.

He is the author of more than 100 refereed journal articles in the areas of colloid and interfacial science, emulsion science, and molecular self assembly, particularly as they apply to energy and to bioseparations. According to Google Scholar, his work has been cited more than 5,300 times, largely in the areas of emulsions and interfacial and colloidal phenomena. He holds or shares 12 patents and has been actively engaged in two startups.

Dr. Kilpatrick is the recipient of numerous teaching and research awards, including the ASEE Regional Teaching Award. He holds an honorary doctorate from the Pázmány Péter Catholic University (Budapest, Hungary), the oldest university in that country. He is past chairperson of the Global Engineering Deans Council and serves as the chairperson of the Clover 2030 International Advisory Board, an initiative focused on reinventing engineering education in Chile.

He received his A.B. in chemistry from Occidental College (summa cum laude) in 1978 and his Ph.D. in chemical engineering from the University of Minnesota in 1983. He and his wife, Nancy, are the parents of four adult children. 


  • The Catholic University of America, president (July 1, 2022)
  • Illinois Institute of Technology, provost and vice president for academic affairs (2018-2022)
  • University of Notre Dame, Matthew H. McCloskey Dean of Engineering (2008-2018)
  • North Carolina State University, founding director of the Biomanufacturing Training and Education Center (2004 – 2007)
  • North Carolina State University, department head, chemistry and Biomolecular engineering (1999 – 2007)
  • North Carolina State University, associate department head, chemical engineering (1996-1999)
  • North Carolina State University, assistant, associate, and full professor, chemical engineering (1983-2007)

Selected National and International Service

  • Chairperson, Global Engineering Deans Council (2015-2017)
  • Chairperson, Clover 2030 International Advisory Board for creating new models for colleges of engineering in Chile (2014-present)
  • Member, Board of Directors of American Institute of Chemical Engineers Foundation (2011-2015)
  • Organizer, 2013 Global Engineering Deans Council Annual Conference (GEDC) 
  • Co-organized NSF workshop on Foundational Grand Challenge in Engineering Education (2012)
  • Member, Professional Progress Award Committee and Warren K Lewis Award Committee of AICHE (between 2002 and 2007) 
  • Co-organized and co-chaired 82nd Annual American Chemical Society Colloid and Surface Science Symposium (2008)
  • Organized and chaired 7th International Conference on Petroleum Phase Behavior (2007)
  • Organized and Chaired National Academy of Engineering Regional Meeting (2002)

Honors and Awards

  • JW Hodgins Memorial Lecturer, McMaster University (2015) 
  • Honorary Doctorate, Pazmany Peter Catholic University, Budapest, Hungary (2013)
  • Magister Vitae Award, Pro-Life Group, University of Notre Dame (2013)
  • Sigma Xi Research Award, North Carolina State University (1992)
  • AT&T Foundation Award for Excellence in the Education of Engineering Students, ASEE (1991)
  • Alcoa Foundation Engineering Research Achievement Award, North Carolina State University (1990)
  • Outstanding Teacher Award, North Carolina State University (1989)
  • Minnesota, Mining, and Manufacturing (3M) Non-Tenured Faculty Award (1984-1987)